Quote of the Day

waterfall2

 

 

As I became aware that all things

have unique spatial and temporal

qualities which visually define and

relate them, I began to perceive the

things I was photographing not as

objects but as events. Working to

develop my skills of perceiving and

symbolizing these event qualities,

I discovered the principle of

 

opposites. When, for example, I photographed the smooth,

luminous body of a woman behind a dirty cobwebbed window,

I found that the qualities of each event were enhanced and the

universal forces which they manifested were more

powerfully evoked. 

 

 

Wynn Bullock

(1902-1975)

American Photographer 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Quote of the Day”

  1. Mel Says:

    Events, not objects–I really liked this one.

    (now going to view the photographers work)

  2. Casper Says:

    Beautiful quote.

Leave a Reply

