Photographer Burt Uzzle

Click on the

following link

to view some

of the work

from today’s 

Quote of the Day

Photographer,

Burt Uzzle:

#mce_temp_url#

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Photographer Burt Uzzle”

  1. dig-n-dash, featured award blog « 47whitebuffalo’s Blog Says:

    […] PS–Here’s a link to what planetcity1 has been reading regarding Native American arts:  https://planetcity1.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/photographer-burt-uzzle/comment-page-1/#comment-1760 […]

  2. 47whitebuffalo Says:

    Hey planetcity1—so what books on Native America have you been digging into? You dig into any of Ella Cara Deloria’s work? Her Waterlily is a rare look at Lakota women pre-contact time period based on her first hand field research. One of my personal favorites. I’m doing a little digging into Vine Deloria’s God is Red–when I’m not tracking Lolo and Zintkala.
    Btw, your dig-n-dash been featured/awared via moi. Grins. So glad you’ve not been ‘sinked’–there’s a great ‘children’s’ book that deals with sinkholes–Tangerine? Orange? Okay–I will have to get back to you with the correct title! LOL.

    • planetcity1 Says:

      I have read so many books that the titles have run together. And I’ve passed them along after reading, so I can’t look ’em up to tell you what they were. I can tell you I’ve covered a ton of history, beading, regalia, finger weaving, spiritual practices, the use of herbs, basketry, etc. etc. until I almost know a bit about what the others are discussing. I will have to read the Deloria books when I get the chance, though, cuz I know those are some I haven’t gotten to yet. Oh, and I’ve also become acquainted with the various varieties of Kinnick Kinnick and Sacred Tobacco along the way. So much to learn, so little time…lol…

    • planetcity1 Says:

      ok…i’ve made up a partial list of recent books (and I may have missed some because I purchase things from a variety of sellers) but here’s an indication of what I’ve been reading in the time I haven’t been blogging:

      Shadowcatchers: a Journey in Search of the Teachings of Native American Healers
      Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: an Introduction
      Spirits of the Earth: a Guide to Native American Nature Symbols, Stories, and Ceremonies
      Dancing Colors: Paths of the Native American Woman
      The Spirit of Indian Women
      The Cherokee Nation: a History
      Seven Clans of the Cherokee Society
      Cherokee Dance and Drama
      Indian Designs for Jewelry and Other Arts and Crafts
      Cherokee Cooklore: to Make My Bread
      Trail of Tears: The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation
      A Primer: the Art of Native American Beadwork By Aikman, Z. Susanne
      Cherokee Basketry (Nc): From the Hands of Our Elders
      Weaving New Worlds: Southeastern Cherokee Women and Their Basketry
      The Cherokee People ( Indian Tribal Series )
      Authentic Indian Designs
      Big Book of Indian Beadwork Designs
      North American Indian Beadwork Designs
      North American Indian Beadwork Patterns
      Authentic American Indian Beadwork and How to Do It: With 50 Charts for Bead Weaving
      The Sacred Pipe: Black Elk’s Account of the Seven Rites of the Oglala Siou
      Dancing the Dream: the Seven Sacred Paths of Human Transformation
      Medicine of the Cherokee: the Way of Right Relationship (Folk Wisdom Series)
      Mankiller: a Chief and Her People
      Walking on the Wind: Cherokee Teachings for Harmony and Balance
      American Indian Beadwork
      The Cherokee Herbal: Native Plant Medicine From the Four Directions
      North American Indian Motifs Cd-Rom and Book (Dover Electronic Clip Art Series)
      North American Indian Designs for Artists and Craftspeople (Dover Pictorial Archive Series)
      Horse, Follow Closely: Native American Horsemanship
      The Cherokee Nation: A History by Robert J. Conley
      Native heritage: personal accounts by American Indians, 1790 to the present
      Identity by Design: Tradition, Change, and Celebration in Native Women’s Dresses
      Native American Hunting and Fighting Skills
      The Complete Guide to Traditional Native American Beadwork: A Definitive Study of Authentic Tools, Materials, Techniques, and Styles
      Finger Weaving: Indian Braiding
      Arts and Crafts of the Cherokee, by Rodney L. Leftwich

      as you can see, I’ve been a tad busy…lol…

      • 47whitebuffalo Says:

        Yes, I DO SEE! Your interest areas differ from mine which are more historical/political/social than artistry. I also note a number of Cherokee venues. Hmm. Okay I am going to attemp a link to this post/reply of yours in case anyone out there is interested. Grins!

        • 47whitebuffalo Says:

          HA! It WORKS! LOLOLOLOL!

        • planetcity1 Says:

          In case you didn’t know, I have been adopted into a local Cherokee band. Thus my interest in Cherokee history as well as my initial (and continuing) interest in the Lakota. I hang out with makers of flutes and drums and blankets as well as artists, so I, of course, take as interest in anything done by hand.
          If you want to view some beautiful work, Identity by Design: Tradition, Change, and Celebration in Native Women’s Dresses has some quality pics of historical native regalia; the photos alone are worth the price of the book.

  3. Mel Says:

    Don’t make us worry about ya…….

    🙂
    Hope all is well!

    • planetcity1 Says:

      Hi, Mel. No, a sinkhole didn’t swallow me — although there are a couple of those now within a mile of my place. I’m visiting everyone’s blogs, including yours, on a daily basis, but have been busy offline catching up on some Native American reading; I’ve only got a dozen or so books to go before
      I sorta kinda get caught up. Sorry about the lack of posts, but there are only so many hours in the day. 😉

Leave a Reply

